top of page

DISCOVER MS. BARNES ABROAD

Home: Welcome
Home: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureMadeline Barnes

I'm Keen on This Place

I am falling more in love with this place every day! The weather is lovely, even if it is raining. My kids are getting very excited for Christmas and they love to tell me everything they want to get from Santa. I learned that Santa has a magic hat that can tell when you are being naughty or nice... who knew! They love to color and explore the world outside. They get so excited when we play games or sing a song. The children here respond best when I use engaging ways to get their attention. If I have them respond to my actions, they enjoy it. If I just tell them to listen, they do not. It is interesting to see how hands on they are as a class.


This weekend we headed to the Coromandel. The drive was long but very worth it. Friday night we when out for pizza and hung out at Chris (our principal's) bach (cottage). It was a quick 5 minute walk to the beach, so I started off each day with a walk to the beach. The shells were so pretty and the blue water was gorgeous. On Saturday, we headed to an amazing breakfast. I tried eggs Benedict for the first time and now I am hooked. Alee and I headed snorkeling. The water was cold but it was still amazing. We saw many stingray, a needle fish, and a lot of other cool looking fish! We drove past Cathedral Cove on our way back. It was awesome! We then headed to get some chips with gravy and a smoothie. Yum. That night we went out to Mexican and sang for Laine's birthday.

Sunday, I walked on the beach to start the morning. We headed to breakfast and I of course got eggs Benedict again. Our next step was hot water beach. The goal was to dig a hole in the sand to find hot water. We saw and felt other people's holes.. but ours.. was not so hot. So we just enjoyed the sunshine and laid on the beach. We headed to lunch and shopping after. The view for lunch overlooked the ocean and was breathtaking. The weekend was a success and I am loving every minute of being here.


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page